How to motivate yourself.

I hate work. Even writing and blogging, something that really shouldn’t be considered work, and do love, is kind of torturous from time to time. But it’s something I have to do…for some reason. Which of course brings me onto the topic of today, which is kind of obvious given the title.

So how do you stay motivated? Good question, wish I could give you a good answer. But really all I can provide is an alright answer, because truth be told I don’t really know myself. I try to stay motivated but trying to be motivated to stay motivated is a struggle enough. So here are a few tips to try and help but really motivation comes down to you.

 

Setting reasonable goals

Anyone remember SMART goals? They’re the kind of things teachers would use to try and make you plan ahead and whatnot. I hated them as a teen, but enough of my short and failed school career, they may have actually been onto something. Goals can’t be as vague as you want them to be, no ‘lose weight’ or ‘write a novel’ no siree. Goals must be concise and time restricted among other things, which is where SMART comes in:

S – specific, significant, stretching

M – measurable, meaningful, motivational

A – agreed upon, attainable, achievable, acceptable, action-oriented

R – realistic, relevant, reasonable, rewarding, results-oriented

T – time-based, time-bound, timely, tangible, trackable

Now using all of these may not be applicable, but they are a good start.

 

Understand what your goal is.

If you are trying to stay motivated to do something, it is obvious you feel some care for it and this, in technically, should be something that motivates you (strange how the world works). Due to this, have something to remind you of that end goal. Perhaps an outfit you’d like to fit into or a follower count for your blog or twitter account.

 

Planning

My main problem with trying to motivate myself is that I have too much freedom, if that makes any sense at all. I find a must keep a log of what I’m on what day, as well as having a checklist of all the steps I must complete before attaining my goal. Understand what you must do each day and if you don’t complete it I like to put a reason why and how to help myself improve upon it.

 

And really the rest is up to your motivation does come from you and only you can truly motivate yourself towards your goal.

One thought on “How to motivate yourself.

Leave a Reply

