Book Review: Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

For those of you who do know, (and if you don’t you can read this) I recently read Legend by Marie Lu and I didn’t particularly like it…and by that, I mean I hated it. So much that when another YA novel about a rebellion, with a boy leading it and a girl working for the evil government siding with him for ‘love’ with godawfully short chapters, popped up, I was ready to hate again. So, when that didn’t happen and in fact I fell in love with it, needless to say I was kind of confused by Winner’s curse by another Marie, this time Marie Rutkoski.

So PLOT: As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers. Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. Kestrel has other ideas.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in Arin, a young slave up for auction. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him – and for a sensational price that sets the society gossips talking. it’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Let’s start off with chapter length. I will admit that when I saw the first chapter was only twelve pages long I did throw the book at the wall out of fear of Dan Brown Syndrome infecting me. But really the chapter length is fine. Not great, but given how the rest of the story is something I love, I can live with it. And I do love the story, for a start the book feels like it lives inside an actual world, there’s fashion, geography, gossip, hobbies, lives being lived rather than having the bare the minimum to live throughout the plot. And what makes the story are the characters. Jesus, I love them. They seem like real living, breathing people with lives. They have clear personalities and motivations. And I love the main pair’s chemistry. Sure, it’s rushed, but they know each other and have motives outside of being with each other.

Conclusion: I love this book, it has flaws, but they aren’t many, seriously I’m man enough to admit I cry at the end. Though the breasts on my chest may argue otherwise. It’s an awesome book that you should definitely read.

Leave a Reply

