Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Does a plot twist make up for bad writing? I’M NOT TOO SURE.

_20170707_141921

Blurb: The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to seventeen-year-old Mare, a Red girl from the poverty-stricken Silts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

But Mare possesses a deadly talent of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of her potential, the Silvers hide Mare in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess. Knowing that one false move will mean her death, Mare must use her new position to bring down the regime- from the inside.

Now Mare has entered a game of betrayal and lies.

Review:

Okay I’m start out by saying I am gonna get into spoilers for this. But I’ll give a summary of my thoughts first.

Red Queen’s okay…it’s fine…it’ll do. The environments pretty immersive, though I’ve never personally liked story trying to mix royal life with the modern day, because I think they are too jarring, but that’s just me. Most of the protagonists I liked and I empathised with, which is something I rarely do. And the story…well that’s my problem.

Okay spoilers now:

Our main character Mare finds herself liking both of the princes in this book Cal, someone she has genuine feelings for but think’s he is on the wrong side and his younger brother Maven who’s she’s fighting in the rebellion with.

And we all know what this is, the dreaded love triangle and Mare comes off pretty stupid and weak for even thinking about letting these people, who hate her Kind, gain any control over her.

Plot twist though, Maven’s actually evil and using Mare.

This shocked the breath out of me. I had to put the book down when it happened.

But there’s the question:

Does a twist make up for bad writing? It’s not terrible writing by any stretch but it’s predictable with a bloody love triangle and a meek protagonist.

I didn’t hate Mare at all. I thought she was alright. But the twist actually made me more aware of how stupid she is. She’s meant to be this pick-pocketer, quick on her feet and hater of the Silvers. But as soon as she comes into contact with pretty boy’s she’s swooning and dumb as a brick. It’s cliqued and overdone but the twist seems to think it can wash that away.

I’ve hated books more than this one (Legend by Marie Lu actually made me cry with anger), and it’s harmless, if overdone. Perhaps the next one will be better.

One thought on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. Ugh, The Red Queen. I’ve read so many shit books lately. I know I must stop picking books based on their tantalizing descriptions. I’m totally taken in by promises of betrayal, passion, war! But they are always total shit. Must bring myself to select books promising slow neighborhoods in the dust bowl where the hero finds a spoon and learns a valuable lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

